DCR Director Amy Moore elected to CANNRA Board

DCR Director Amy Moore elected to CANNRA Board


Cannabis Regulators Association Elects New Board Members, Welcomes the Netherlands into Membership 

The Cannabis Regulators Association (CANNRA) – a non-partisan, non-profit 501(c)(4) association that convenes government agencies involved in cannabis and cannabinoid regulation – elected two new board members this past week: Kirsten Davis-Franklin, Deputy Cannabis Regulation Oversight Officer of Legislation and Policy at the Illinois Cannabis Regulation Oversight Office, and Amy Moore, Director of the Division of Cannabis Regulation at the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services. Davis-Franklin and Moore were elected to serve out the terms of Tyler Klimas, former Executive Director of the Nevada Cannabis Compliance Board, and Chris Tholkes, former Director of the Minnesota Office of Medical Cannabis – both of whom left their posts as regulators in December 2023. 

“I am grateful to both Tyler and Chris for their service to the CANNRA board and the association since the early days of CANNRA’s founding,” said CANNRA’s current President, Will Tilburg, Director of the Maryland Cannabis Administration. “I am excited about Kirsten and Amy’s engagement in the board. Their experience and insights as regulators will help guide CANNRA forward in what promises to be a year filled with continued policy and regulatory changes at the federal and international level.” 

“I am keenly aware of the value CANNRA provides to regulators and have benefited greatly from the knowledge of my peers,” said Davis-Franklin, who also co-chairs CANNRA’s Social and Economic Equity Committee. “I look forward to helping the board support and expand CANNRA as an association while simultaneously supporting regulators across the country as we strive to build a safe, sustainable, and equitable cannabis industry.” 

Amy Moore

“CANNRA’s work in bringing regulators together to identify and share best practices is increasingly necessary,” said Moore. “As a board member, I want to contribute more to that work, particularly efforts to provide education from state lessons learned that can inform key U.S. federal decisions that may be made in the coming years.” 

CANNRA’s current board members are: 

  • President – Will Tilburg, Director, Maryland Cannabis Administration 
  • President-Elect – Dominique Mendiola, Senior Director, Colorado Marijuana Enforcement Division 
  • Treasurer – Adria Berry, Executive Director, Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority 
  • Board Member – Kirsten Davis-Franklin, Deputy Officer of Legislation and Policy, Illinois Cannabis Regulation Oversight Office 
  • Board Member – Nicole Elliott, Director, California Department of Cannabis Control 
  • Board Member – Amy Moore, Director, Division of Cannabis Regulation, Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services 
  • Board Member – Andrew Turnage, Executive Director, Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission 

In addition to welcoming new board members, CANNRA welcomed the Netherlands as a new international non-voting member. The Netherlands joins Canada, who became an international non- voting member of CANNRA in 2023, and 45 U.S. states and territories who are CANNRA members. 

“We are thrilled to welcome the government of the Netherlands to our growing international membership,” said CANNRA Executive Director, Dr. Gillian Schauer. “As the cannabis, cannabinoid, and hemp industries grow and evolve, it is important that regulators around the globe can learn from each other and better understand how different policy approaches may impact market dynamics, public health and consumer safety, and equity,” she added. 


More information about the current CANNRA board is available here: 


A map of current CANNRA members is available here: 


More information about CANNRA is available at: www.cann-ra.org. 

To contact CANNRA, please email: info@cann-ra.org.